iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Job Security – Optimistically


I heard the phrase “job security” the other day as people were walking past my table at lunch and it started me thinking. How often has “job security” been used in a sentence? Usually it is uttered in some sort of joking context, but to be honest, there is a bit of uncertainty that goes along with this phrase. It packs quite a punch.

April 2, 2009, I lost job security with my employer. I was told that in 60 days, my job was going to be terminated because it was deemed redundant. Anger, disbelief and fear formed their own job security and punched in to work for me, but I quickly let them go as I found optimism to be more productive. With optimism on my side, I realized I had opportunities ahead of me. I was scheduled to graduate college the following month and I became eager to put my degree to the test and find a new career. I envisioned starting my own business from a business plan I created for an entrepreneurial class, but at the final hour with my employer, I was offered job security in a recently formed full-time position of which I was over-qualified. I accepted the job because it felt better to have job security rather than no job security. I gave optimism a leave of absence soon after settling into the new job.

After a little over a year, optimism knocked on my door looking for work. I reviewed the time we had spent together and remembered what a great morale booster it had been for me. It only costs change in me in order to have optimism work, so I brought it on board again.

I’ve uttered the words job security in a sort of joking context and I felt the uncertainty of this phrase as well. I am thankful for being able to work, but optimistically, I feel I am in training to take a position working strictly for God. I believe there will always be job security working for him until the second coming of Christ. I shall surrender myself and listen to my life direction.

Philippians 3:12-14 (NIV)
12Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. 13Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, 14I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Job Security – Optimistically

  1. Elizabeth Ann on said:

    And even after His 2nd Coming, I believe we have a lot of wonderful things to do in Heaven, too; things which require our own unique talents.

    Like

Leave a Reply

