iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

You’ve Got Mail!


Isn’t it convenient to send family and friends a quick status update on Facebook, a tweet on Twitter, or an email note to a contact list sharing a joke or attached pictures? Ah yes…cyber communication.

Convenient and quick cyber communications are enemies to the hand-written card or letter.

When was the last time you went to your physical mailbox, the one a federal Postal worker opens and fills with mail, and found an envelope addressed to you in ink and it was not a bill or junk mail?

The hand-written card or letter is a very special piece of mail for me. In fact, after I read it over a few times, I set it out on my desk to admire a while longer before it makes its way into my box of sentimental memories. To take the time to find just the right card or stationery means the sender is thinking about the recipient. Then, finding a favorite pen and clearing time out of a busy schedule to write a heartfelt note, an encouraging word or words of celebration complete the sentimental memory maker.

Sometimes what is written is hard to read because we may need to change our lives based on the contents. God wrote to us. He had us in mind when he created just the perfect stone tablets and the perfect chisel for Moses to use as he dictated the Ten Commandments on Mount Sinai. God knew the commandments were hard to live by, but he had to give his people direction until Jesus was born.

I am running out of storage space for all cyber communication, but I have unlimited sentimental memory storage space in my heart for God’s word.

Proverbs 7:1, 3 (NIV)
1 My son, keep my words
and store up my commands within you.
3 Bind them on your fingers;
write them on the tablet of your heart.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “You’ve Got Mail!

  1. Pretty good post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts. Any way I’ ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

