iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Just Need a Hand to Hold


In church this morning, I watched as the children were invited by the Pastor to join him on the steps of the altar so he could lead them in a children’s sermon. Some children run, some children walk alone and some children hold hands with others as they make their way to the altar. Some children seem too afraid to approach on their own, so a parent will lead them by the hand and sit with them, or near them, so they can participate with the other children.

As a child, I feared going forward on my own. I needed the support of a trusted adult to lead me where I was invited…at least the first time. I have not out-grown this fear because as an adult, I fret over the unfamiliar.

Isaiah 41:10, 13
10So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

13For I am the Lord, your God, who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.

Imagine verse 10. God takes my left hand and leads me with His righteous right hand each and every time I am scared to take a step forward on my own.

Imagine verse 13. In the previous verse, God is known to have a righteous right hand. Now, the most common way for two people to hold onto right hands is to face each other. As God and I reach for each other, I see Him looking gently into my fearful eyes while taking hold of my right hand in his righteous right hand. God says, “Do not fear, I will help you.”

God will lead me where He needs me. I am able to run if I want to, walk if I want to, or just hold the hand of another. With the promises in Isaiah 41:10, 13, I have no room in either hand to keep holding onto fear.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Just Need a Hand to Hold

  1. You are “in the Spirit” w/your views, Kris. All I can say is “WOW!” (Woman Of the Word!)

    Like

  2. Brilliant!

    I love your interpretation of these precious scriptures.

    Thank You!

    Like

Leave a Reply

