iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

BAGGAGE TO BUTTERFLY


I tend to carry around years of baggage. Not just a few odds and ends of this and that, but the essence of my heart where tears have collected into pools of water. This baggage is very heavy.

The New American Roget’s College Thesaurus suggests a new word other than baggage; impedimenta. The root word is impede which means to interfere with the progress of. The progress of…being still and hearing God’s direction for my life.

Impedimenta come with control systems fastened to my weaknesses. With a booming voice like that of a drill-sergeant only I can hear, I am reminded that I am not good enough, pretty enough, skilled enough, or smart enough. My past mistakes trip me and pull me down only to stare deep into my eyes and say there is no forgiveness. I am told I don’t matter unless I am affirmed.
– – – – – – –
As I stepped onto the Labyrinth at the retreat in June, I chose to leave the impedimenta with the booming voice like that of a drill-sergeant that only I can hear. I cried out to God to rescue me from the heavy trap of lies. I sat in the middle cocooned in prayer. Jesus carried me out and freed me like a butterfly on a beautiful spring day.

Impedimenta-free, I feel as light as a butterfly on its inaugural flight. My wings flap crazily and I zig and I zag through the sky taking flight breaks on all the pretty flowers of the earth. I am free to hear God’s direction for my life.

I take to flight…

Matthew 22: 37-38
Jesus said, “Love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul and with all your mind.” This is the first and greatest commandment.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “BAGGAGE TO BUTTERFLY

  1. My challenge has been to stay in the butterfly stage and not grab the baggage again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

