iBelieve

Then the man said, “Lord, I believe,” and he worshiped him. John 9:38 (NIV)

Can You Wing It?


I would like to give a shout out to those people who, when asked at the last minute to do something they were unprepared to do, still get up and complete the task.

I was asked to read at church today. Now, I love to read in front of a crowd and public speaking does not scare me. It is not about being the center of attention; however, I simply love passing on helpful information and reading from the Bible at church is passing on helpful information. I am asked to read periodically in a rotation of other church members who like to read as well. But today, I was tapped on the shoulder 5 minutes before the readings were to take place. I agreed to do it as a fill in for the person that was scheduled to read. But then I looked at the readings for the day and instantly felt panic as the first reading was long…Genesis 1:1-2:4. I have read this section numerous times to myself and in Bible Studies, but today, my first thought was, ‘I didn’t prepare‘.

I have come to the realization that I need to prepare for everything I do. Just winging it, doesn’t fly with me. I try to be more impulsive and open to spontaneous situations, but usually the circumstance will change and I end up not being needed for the task. Does God bless a willing heart or the person that performs? This has always been a question in my mind.

I did not have to read after all. As my life pattern continues, the reader had arranged for another church member to read for them, but the person who had asked me to read was not aware of this arrangement.

Psalm 40:8
I desire to do your will, O my God; your law is within my heart.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Can You Wing It?

  1. Thank you. The Bible talks about “being instant in season and out of season.”

  2. Our vulnerability sets us free. :-) Love this vulnerable sharing, Kris. Lovely writing too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 403 other followers

