iBelieve

Then the man said, “Lord, I believe,” and he worshiped him. John 9:38 (NIV)

Purge


Look around the room you are in right now.

Seriously assess if you really need all the items that you see in front of you, to the left of you, to the right of you, and behind you. Sure there may be some sentimental reactions to some items and that is good. But what about the items that you have not looked at or touched in a very long time. The type of item that you say to yourself, “If this item was not here, my life would still go on”.

I have intentionally purged many of my belongings. I cleaned off my desk, and its files within. I thinned out my closet and dresser. I pulled everything from the attic and organized the few items I kept. I planned to purge and I did it over time and it feels really good to know that my space is filled with items that are important to me. I find comfort in what is in front of me, to the left of me, to the right of me, and behind me.

Purging can be done in our minds too. Often, we allow the past to become our present. We get bogged down with old thoughts that we cannot change their outcome and the old thoughts are taking up valuable space. In order to purge our minds, we need to let go of what was. Find comfort that everyone has a yesterday that is painful. Find comfort that everyone has an opportunity to live in the now. But it is up to you to decide when you want to purge and enjoy today. You do not have to do it alone. Call on Jesus to help you. He tells us in 2 Corinthians 12:9 “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

Plan to purge and then purge.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Purge

  1. Well said! Often I get bogged down in the “taking care of stuff” and it hinders my moving forward. Purging is good.

  2. Good post! I often feel so overwhelmed when I look around my house and all its clutter. Sometimes I just don’t know where to start and I feel paralyzed. It’s not that I want to hold on to all the “stuff” because I know so much of it needs to be purged and thrown away. Other stuff can be donated to someone who can use it more than I. I know I need to look at it in a different way and just do a little at a time. Today I plan to start with drawers in my dresser and see how far I get…. it’s a start!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 400 other followers

